Telangana Chief Minister KCR Faces Trouble as Congress Crosses Halfway Mark

Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao is contesting from two seats-Gajwel and Kamareddy.


The Congress has surged ahead in the Telangana assembly elections vote count, leading on 70 seats while the ruling Bharat Rashtra Samiti (BRS) is ahead on 37, according to early trends (Telangana assembly elections results).

If this trend continues, it will be the first time that India’s youngest state sees another party at the helm. The BRS has been ruling since 2014, the year of the state’s birth.

Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao is contesting from two seats, leading in Gajwel, and trailing in Kamareddy. Congress spokesperson Lavanya Ballal Jain expressed confidence of victory, stating that the party is “very sure” about winning. She also clarified that the Congress is not planning any operation like “Operation Kamala”.

Anti-incumbency has been building up against the ruling party in Telangana, which has been banking on welfare measures including the Rythu Bandhu and Rythu Bima schemes for farmers and other deprived classes.

Exit polls have predicted a narrow victory for Congress with an estimated 62 seats, while the BRS may be reduced to 44 seats. The state’s turnout in the recent election was 71.34%, lower than the 2018 turnout of 73.2%.

In the 2018 elections, the TRS emerged victorious by capturing 88 seats. The Congress secured the second position with 19 seats, while the Telugu Desam Party managed to win only two seats. The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen claimed seven seats, and the BJP won only one seat.


Denial of responsibility! Vigour Times is an automatic aggregator of Global media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, and all materials to their authors. For any complaint, please reach us at – [email protected]. We will take necessary action within 24 hours.
DMCA compliant image

Leave a Comment