NASCAR Cup Series Roars into Action at Thrilling Martinsville Speedway

The NASCAR Cup Series heads to Martinsville Speedway for the next race in the playoffs, where eight drivers will compete to secure a spot in the championship race in Phoenix on November 5. While Kyle Larson and Christopher Bell have already secured their places in the final, the remaining six drivers will need to win or perform well to join them. William Byron and Ryan Blaney currently sit above the cut line, with Tyler Reddick, Denny Hamlin, Martin Truex Jr., and Chris Buescher on the outside looking in.

Last year’s race at Martinsville provided one of the most memorable moments in NASCAR playoff history, as Ross Chastain made a daring move to edge out Hamlin and secure a spot in the final on points. However, this move has since been outlawed by NASCAR.

Here’s what you need to know about the Xfinity 500:

Xfinity 500 TV/streaming schedule

All times Eastern

12:30-1:20 p.m.: Practice (USA, NBC Sports app)
1:20-2:30 p.m.: Qualifying (USA, NBC Sports app)

1:30-2 p.m.: Pre-race show (NBC, NBC Sports app)
2-5:30 p.m.: Xfinity 500 (NBC, NBC Sports app)

Xfinity 500 details

Track: Martinsville Raceway, .526-mile paperclip oval in Ridgeway, Virginia

Race length: 500 laps for 263 miles

Banking: 12 degrees in the turns, none on straightaways

Stage lengths: Stages 1 and 2 – 130 laps | Stage 3 – 240 laps

Last year’s winner: Kyle Larson (5), Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

Top drivers and best bets for the Xfinity 500

Denny Hamlin is in need of a strong performance or a win to secure his spot in the Championship 4, and he has a great track record at Martinsville with five victories. Unsurprisingly, he is considered the favorite according to BetMGM. Kyle Larson and William Byron, both from Hendrick Motorsports, are currently second and third in the standings and have favorable odds at +725. Martin Truex Jr., who is tied with Hamlin, sits as the only other driver with odds better than 10-to-1.

Best odds to win:
• Denny Hamlin +325
• William Byron +725
• Kyle Larson +725
• Martin Truex Jr. +900

In addition to the favorites, Yahoo Sports’ Nick Bromberg suggests considering Christopher Bell and Joey Logano at +1700. Bromberg advises caution with Brad Keselowski at +700 and recommends Ty Gibbs as a longshot at +3000.

Oct 30, 2022; Martinsville, Virginia, USA; NASCAR Cup Series driver Denny Hamlin (11) during the Xfinity 500 at Martinsville Speedway. Mandatory Credit: Peter Casey-USA TODAY Sports

Denny Hamlin has the most wins of any active driver at Martinsville, with five victories. (Photo by Peter Casey-USA TODAY Sports)

NASCAR Cup Series playoff standings

1. Christopher Bell* – 4,110 (-)
2. Kyle Larson* – 4084 (-)
3. William Byron – 4,126 (+30)
4. Ryan Blaney – 4,106 (+10)
_________________________________ Cut line
5. Tyler Reddick – 4,096 (-10)
6. Martin Truex Jr. – 4089 (-17)
7. Denny Hamlin – 4089 (-17)
8. Chris Buescher – 4,063 (-43)
*-Clinched entry into Championship 4

Xfinity 500 entry list

Ross Chastain (1), Trackhouse Racing Chevrolet
Austin Cindric (2), Team Penske Ford
Austin Dillon (3), Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet
Kevin Harvick (4), Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
Kyle Larson (5), Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
Brad Keselowski (6), RFK Racing Ford
Corey LaJoie (7), Spire Motorsports Chevrolet
Kyle Busch (8), Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet
Chase Elliott (9), Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
Aric Almirola (10), Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
Denny Hamlin (11), Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
Ryan Blaney (12), Team Penske Ford
Chase Briscoe (14), Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
J.J. Yeley (15), Rick Ware Racing Ford
A.J. Allmendinger (16), Kaulig Racing Chevrolet
Chris Buescher (17), RFK Racing Ford
Martin Truex Jr. (19), Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
Christopher Bell (20), Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
Harrison Burton (21), Wood Brothers Racing Ford
Joey Logano (22), Team Penske Ford
Bubba Wallace (23), 23XI Racing Toyota
William Byron (24), Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
Justin Haley (31), Kaulig Racing Chevrolet
Michael McDowell (34), Front Row Motorsports Ford
Todd Gilliland (38), Front Row Motorsports Ford
Ryan Preece (41), Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
Carson Hocevar (42), Legacy Motor Club Chevrolet
Erik Jones (43), Legacy Motor Club Chevrolet
Tyler Reddick (45), 23XI Racing Toyota
Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (47), JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet
Alex Bowman (48), Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
Ryan Newman (51), Rick Ware Racing Ford
Ty Gibbs (54), Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
Ty Dillon (77), Spire Motorsports Chevrolet
BJ McLeod (78), Live Fast Motorsports Ford
Daniel Suárez (99), Trackhouse Racing Chevrolet


Denial of responsibility! Vigour Times is an automatic aggregator of Global media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, and all materials to their authors. For any complaint, please reach us at – [email protected]. We will take necessary action within 24 hours.
DMCA compliant image

Leave a Comment