Amanda Seyfried, Michael Keaton, Murray Bartlett, Sheryl Lee Ralph win Emmys



Amanda Seyfried won an Emmy for her work in “The Dropout” Monday night. File Photo by John Angelillo/UPI | License Photo

Sept. 12 (UPI) — Amanda Seyfried, Michael Keaton, Murray Bartlett, Jennifer Coolidge and Sheryl Lee Ralph were among the winners at the 2022 Primetime Emmy Awards ceremony Monday at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles.

Seyfried won the Emmy for Best Lead Actress in a Limited or Anthology Series or TV Movie for The Dropout, while Keaton won for Best Lead Actor in a Limited or Anthology Series or TV Movie for Dopesick.

Bartlett and Coolidge were named Best Supporting Actor and Actress in a Limited or Anthology Series or TV Movie for White Lotus.

Matthew Macfadyen also earned the honor for Best Supporting Actor in a Drama for Succession and Julia Garner won the Best Supporting Actress in a Drama statuette for Ozark.

Sheryl Lee Ralph and Brett Goldstein won the Supporting Actress and Actor in a Comedy prizes for their work in Abbott Elementary and Ted Lasso respectively.

Ralph delivered one of the most memorable speeches of the night.

“To anyone who has ever, ever had a dream and thought your dream wasn’t, wouldn’t, couldn’t come true, I am here to tell you that this is what believing looks like,” she said.

“This is what striving looks like. And don’t you ever, ever give up on you. Because if you get a Quinta Brunson in your corner, if you get a husband like mine in your corner, if you get children like mine in your corner, and if you get friends like everybody who voted for me, cheered for me, loved me … thank you, thank you!”

Saturday Night Live was named Best Variety Sketch Series and the trophy for Best Variety Talk Series went to Last Week Tonight with John Oliver.

Lizzo’s Watch Out for the Big Grrrls won the Emmy for Best Competition Program.

Kenan Thompson is hosting the show, which honors the best in American evening television programming. It is airing on NBC and streaming on Peacock.

The gala opened with Thompson and dancers performing to a medley of some of the most recognizable TV theme songs in history, including Friends, The Brady Bunch, Law & Order, Stranger Things and Game of Thrones.

Will Arnett, Angela Bassett, Kelly Clarkson, Ariana DeBose, Selena Gomez, Mariska Hargitay, Jung Ho-yeon, Lee Jung-jae, Jimmy Kimmel and other stars are confirmed to present the awards.

The HBO series Succession leads the field of nominees with 25 nominations, including Outstanding Drama Series.



Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! Vigour Times is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave a comment
Enable Notifications OK No thanks